Pictures from Presov

The baptismal font.

The baptismal font.

For reasons I cannot fathom, possibly having to do with my inability to master a Slovak language keyboard, I can’t access my post, “A Rainy Day in Slovakia.”  So I’m going to post the pictures I had intended to add to that post, in this post.  Please forgive the confusion.

As I noted in the other post, the Lutheran church in Presov, formerly Eperjes, was where my great-grandfather and his siblings were all baptized.  A very helpful and friendly shop clerk named Anna got the key for this old church, and let me take pictures inside.

Around the square in Presov.

Around the square in Presov.

Me in the Trinity  Lutheran Church, Presov.

Me in the Trinity Lutheran Church, Presov.

Anna holding the church key.

Anna holding the church key.

Inside the church in Presov.

Inside the church in Presov.

The Lutheran college where my great uncle Nicholas attended.

The Lutheran college where my great uncle Nicholas attended.

2 thoughts on “Pictures from Presov

  1. So interesting Charlie! I read The Historian recently…an overly long vampire novel (aren’t they all!) but with gorgeous descriptions and history of Hungary & Romania…this whole area. I’m also fascinated by people’s roots…it was that stint as an anthropologist, I guess. Now with DNA studies, developing research on nature vs nurture, debates on globalization it is such a fun mystery to unravel. Can’t help looking at my kids and parsing out the Irish, Swedish and Ukrainian components. Thanks for this window into your part of the world! Best, Barbara Johnson, RHS, Class of 70

Leave a Reply

