Budapest views, 1972

Saint Matthew's Church is in the background.  This is a street in Buda, December, 1972.

Saint Matthew’s Church is in the background. This is a street in Buda, December, 1972.

The Parliament is barely visible on the Pest side.  View is from the Buda Hills.

The Parliament is barely visible on the Pest side. View is from the Buda Hills.

As I plan to depart for Hungary on Friday, I have been thinking back on PICT0007my visit there over New Years, 1973.  I took some of the “obligatory” pictures of Budapest then, and I plan to revisit those places while I am in Budapest.  This is the Hungarian National Museum.  The banner reads, “50 Years of the Soviet Union.”  Some things have changed; I understand there is a giant Lenin hand from a toppled statue on display inside.

The air in Budapest was pretty polluted in 1972.  Is it cleaner now?  And, will there be more people about than on the street scene in Buda on New Years Eve?  I’ll keep you posted.

 

One thought on “Budapest views, 1972

Leave a Reply

